

THE DUN LAOGHAIRE MOTOR YACHT CLUB REGATTA 2024 Saturday 8th June

Dun Laoghaire Motor Yacht Club, West Pier, Dun Laoghaire, Co. Dublin, Ireland.

NOTICE OF RACE

ONLINE ENTRY ONLY: www.dmyc.ie/regatta

1. RULES

The regatta will be governed by the rules as defined in the *Racing Rules of Sailing*. The sailing instructions are common to all four waterfront Club Regattas in 2024.

Boats may be required to display advertising chosen and supplied by the Organising Authority on each side of their bow [DP].

2. ELIGIBILITY & ENTRY REQUIREMENTS.

Boats in the following classes shall be eligible to enter and the schedule of racing shall be as indicated below:

Course Card A		Course Card B		Course Card C	
2 Races Back-to-Back		2 Races Back-to-Back		Up to 3 Races Back-to-Back	
Class	Start Signal	Class	Start	Class	Start Signal
			Signal		
Cruiser 0	12:00	Sportboats	11:30	Fireball	11:30
Cruiser 1	12:05	SB20	11:33	Melges 15	11:33
Cruiser 2	12:10	Dragon	11:36	ILCA 7	11:36
Beneteau 31.7	12:15	Flying Fifteen	11:39	ILCA 6	11:39
Cruiser 3	12:20	Ruffian 23/Shipman / DB21	11:42	RS Aero (PY)	11:42
Cruiser	12:25	Glen / Squib / Mermaid**	11:45	PY Dinghies**	11:45
4a/4b/5a/5b					
Howth 17*	* See note	Beneteau 21	11:48	Water Wag***	* **See note

^{*} Howth 17s start in Howth and finish at the Flagship for Course Card A. Details of Howth start will be published with the sailing instructions - Schedule D.

^{**} Glens, Squibs & Mermaids under PY – PY Dinghies include 2-handed and single-handed (Finns, IDRAs etc.)

^{***} Water Wags race on Wednesday 5th June 2024. Prizes will be awarded in the DMYC Clubhouse on Wednesday 5th June - Entry fee is €15.00.

Sailing Instructions, common to all four waterfront Club Regattas in 2024, will be available on the website of Dun Laoghaire Motor Yacht Club.

Entries should be made online: www.dmyc.ie/regatta

The declaration on the form must be completed by the boat owner or his/her authorized representative and, if the owner is under 18 years of age, by his/her parent or guardian.

Normal entries close at 24:00 on Thursday 6th June. Late entries will be accepted until 12:00 on Friday 7 th June at an extra €15 late entry fee. Queries to

Dun Laoghaire Motor Yacht Club, West Pier, Dun Laoghaire, Co. Dublin.

Tel: (01) 280 5725. Fax: (01) 280 1371 Web: www.dmyc.ie Contact: office@dmyc.ie

Tide Times: Saturday 8 th June	Low Tide 07:05: 0.65m,	High Tide 13:43: 3.84m
---	------------------------	------------------------

3. ENTRY FEES.

Cruiser Class 0, 1, 2, 3, 4 and Cruiser 5a/5b - €75 (Includes prizes awarded under ECHO and IRC/VPRS as appropriate)

Beneteau 31.7 - €75 (One Design and progressive

ECHO)

Sportboats (VPRS), Cruiser 4a/4b (VPRS), SB20, Dragon, Ruffian, Glen, Shipman, DB21,

Beneteau 21 - €65

Howth 17, Fireballs, Melges 15, Flying Fifteen, Squib, Mermaid, PY 2-handed dinghy - €45

ILCA 7, ILCA 6, RS Aero, PY Single-handed dinghy - €35

Water Wag - €15

4. HANDICAPS and DIVISION of CLASSES.

Fleets will be divided on the following basis (subject to the committee's right to allocate a boat to any class):

Boats in other Cruiser Classes will be divided on the basis of their ISA Standard ECHO Reference Handicap.

Class TCF Range Cruisers Class 0: 1.035 and above Cruisers Class 1: 0.980 to 1.034

Cruisers Class 2: 0.920 to 0.979 and Boats from 0.908 to 0.919 with an overall length

exceeding 9mts

Cruisers Class 3: 0.800 to 0.919

Cruisers Class 4a/5a: 0.959 and over – Cruisers 4b/5b: 0.958 and under

Cruiser 5 = Non-Spinnaker, White Sails, Mandatory Furler / Cruiser 4 = Non-Spinnaker

Boats with ratings lower than minimum rating of the class above them may participate in that class but such boats shall accept the minimum rating of that class. The Organising. Authority reserves the right to allocate any keelboat to a Class in the Cruiser Divisions.

5. SAILING INSTRUCTIONS.

Sailing Instructions, common to all four waterfront Club Regattas in 2024 will be available on the website of Dun Laoghaire Motor Yacht Club.

6. SCORING

All races sailing shall be scored (no discard applies).

Boats entered in Cruiser Classes will be scored on their IRC and/or ECHO handicap applicable on the regatta entry closing date.

7. DISCLAIMER OF LIABILITY

Competitors participate in the regatta entirely at their own risk. See rule 3, Decision to Race. The Organizing Authority (The National Yacht Club), Dublin Bay Sailing Club, Dun Laoghaire Rathdown County Council, **Dublin Port Company**, and all their officers, members, sponsors and volunteers will not accept any liability for material damage or personal injury, or death sustained in conjunction with or prior to, during, or after the regatta.

8. INSURANCE

Each participating boat shall be insured with valid third-party liability insurance with a minimum cover of €3,000,000 per event or the equivalent.

9. PRIZES

Prizes shall be awarded for 1st, 2nd, and 3rd overall in all classes, subject respectively to a minimum of 2, 5 or 7 entries in a class. Prize giving will take place at approximately 18.00 at the DMYC on the day of the regatta.

There will also be a prize for the 'best all ladies crew' boat. The award of prizes for the day's racing is entirely at the discretion of the Organising Authority.

10. ASHORE

All Owners, Skippers and Crew will be Temporary Members of the DMYC on the day of the Regatta.

There will be a barbecue (outside, weather permitting), and entertainment, after sailing.